Enter Now

iAwards Categories

There are fifteen iAwards up for grabs in 2018, including the most recognised technology innovation award in Australia - the AIIA Innovation of the Year iAward. These are:

  • Consumer Markets
  • Community Service Markets
  • Industrial & Primary Industries
  • Public Sector & Government
  • Business Service Markets
  • Undergraduate Tertiary Student(s)
  • Senior Student(s)
  • Junior Student(s)
  • Startup of the Year
  • Research & Development Project of the Year
  • Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Innovation of the Year
  • Infrastructure & Platforms Innovation of the Year
  • Big Data Innovation of the Year
  • AIIA Innovation of the Year iAward (National iAwards only)
  • Victorian Government Inspiration of the Year Award Winner (National iAwards only)

Find your Category

The 2018 iAwards are structured around five main organisation categories and three student categories. Choosing the right organisation category for you depends on the primary market for your innovation. Where the innovation is marketed to more than one group of users (e.g. a product which both businesses and consumers use), the nomination should be submitted under the Core Category or target market for which the innovation was originally developed. Students (except postgraduate tertiary students) are required to select the 'Student' category relevant to them.

In a single submission, you are entitled to enter a maximum of three award categories (conditions apply), depending on whether or not they are relevant to your innovation. This diagram may aid your understanding of the category structure.

Core Categories

Consumer Category

For Digital projects, products and services that target consumers across all markets.

Consumer focused industries are fast moving and highly competitive. Digital innovation enables economic participants to respond rapidly to market requirements, bypassing limitations including, for example, in production and logistics.

Sample market sectors – Retail, Media, Entertainment, Arts and Culture, Gaming, Tourism, Banking, Insurance & Finance (Retail), Real estate (Retail)

Community Services Category

For Digital projects, products and services that target niche markets in order to break down the barriers that prevent some members of the community from fully participating in (and contributing to) society.

Sample market sectors – Regional, Rural and Remote Services, eLearning, Health and Wellbeing, Veterinarian Services, Sustainability and Environment, NGOs, Disability Sector, Sport

Industrial & Primary Industries Category

For solutions that deliver automation through the integration of systems, technologies and processes in the commodities sector.

Industrial activity is focussed on next generation improvement, supporting the development and competitiveness of the marketplace. Digital productivity is core to optimising processes, reducing costs and to developing new product offerings.

Sample market sectors - Agriculture; Mining; Oil & Gas; Energy; Manufacturing; Construction; Transport; Utilities

Business Services

For Digital B-2-B solutions that drive and deliver businesses with high levels of productivity and competitiveness.

The business services market is truly global and needs Digital solutions to ensure they can compete in real time across international boundaries and regulatory systems.

Sample market sectors - Banking; Finance; Legal; Accounting; Architecture; HR; Administrative Services; Professional Services

Public Sector and Government

For Digital projects that deliver the digitisation of citizen services and improve efficiencies in the machinery of government. Solutions will be developed by government or government in collaboration with industry partners.

The Government iAward is presented for outstanding ICT innovation dedicated to delivering improved government service delivery or other Digital initiatives for the public.

Sample market sectors - Health; Human services; Education; Justice & Police; Emergency Services; Defence; Taxation; Border Protection

Cross Technology Categories

Infrastructure & Platform Innovation of the Year

For solutions which enable the management/creation of hardware/software infrastructure and platforms that are integral to the success of providing stable and economical environments on which to build efficient operating platforms for all sectors of business, industry and personal life.

This category can include infrastructure applications in areas as diverse as blockchain, IoT and security.

The integration of existing legacy systems with state of the art technologies hosted on both on premise and cloud infrastructure are critical in enabling big data (encompassing data analytics and business intelligence reporting) and mobility to flourish. This ensures systems reliably deliver functionality required by business.

Big Data Innovation of the Year

For solutions which utilise large volumes of data – both structured and unstructured – that result in strategic analysis and better decisions. This category includes analytics solutions and Internet of Things solutions.

Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning

Artificial intelligence is intelligence exhibited by machines or intelligent agents to optimize one or more goals. It applies to any device that learns or applies adaptive solutions to improve performance over time. The traditional problems (or goals) of AI include reasoning, knowledge, planning, learning, natural language processing, perception and the ability to move and manipulate objects.

Cross Industry Categories

Research & Development Project of the Year

For outstanding Digital Research & Development (including postgraduate tertiary student research).

Startup of the Year

For outstanding Digital innovation by a company in the start-up phase of development.

To be eligible for the Startup Award the organisation must meet the following criteria:

  • The organisation was registered as a company on or after 1 January 2015;
  • The founder of the company and/or the product developers must still be the significant shareholder(s) of the company; and
  • The company must not be a subsidiary of a well-established parent company.

This will be checked with ASIC prior to judging.

Terms and Conditions

One submission fee entitles an applicant to enter into a maximum of three (3) award categories; the fee is the same regardless of whether you enter into one, two or three categories. This entitlement is based on the condition that one category is selected from the 'core categories', one is selected from the 'cross-technology categories' and/or one is selected from the 'cross-industry categories'. Entry into one of the core categories is mandatory; entry into either of the cross categories is optional. An innovation does not need to win a Core Category award to be eligible for a Cross Category award. For full Terms and Conditions, please click here.

Nominate Now