ICT innovation leaders collect top honours at ACT iAwards

Annual industry award program announces ACT winners for 2015

Wednesday, 24 Jun 2015

Last night the leaders in ICT innovation received the accolades of the industry as the iAwards winners were announced for ACT at an exclusive gala dinner held at Gandel Hall, Australian National Gallery.

There was healthy competition this year, with 40 nominations submitted across all categories. The successful winners and merit recipients will go on to compete at the national iAwards on 25-27 August, in Melbourne.

In recognition of the exciting ICT economy in Canberra, this year’s awards were presided over by Hon Dr Andrew Leigh, MP and John de Margheriti, Chairman and CEO, Academy of Interactive Entertainment, who spoke on the importance of education and his plans to invest $111million dollars, over 20 years, in developing an education precinct in Canberra.

Winners of the 2015 Digital Canberra iAwards, across five domains and 16 categories:

  • Development:
    • New Product – BloodNet Laboratory Interface, National Blood Authority
    • Start-up – Enabled Employment, Enabled Employment
  • Industry:
    • Finance - BitMoby, mHITs Limited and Bitmoby
    • Applications, Tools & Platforms – BloodNet Laboratory Interface, National Blood Authority
  • Service:
    • Consumer - BitMoby, mHITs Limited and Bitmoby
    • Education – Pathways Web Application, Squiz Australia
    • Government – Fusion Capability, Australian Crime Commission
    • Health – BloodNet Laboratory Interface, National Blood Authority
  • Society:
    • Regional, Inclusion & Community – Dandelion Program, Hewlett Packard Australia & Department of Human Services
  • Under-25s – Hills  Young Innovator of the Year
    • Mobile - SignOnSite, Alexandria Garlan
  • Students:
    • Secondary – Reduce Your Emissions, Canberra Grammar School & Digital Careers
    • Undergraduate Tertiary - SignOnSite, SignOnSite Pty Ltd & University of Canberra
    • Postgraduate Tertiary – Spatial Augmented Reality for Teleworkers, ANU, University of South Australia & CSIRO

Further information regarding all winners and merit recipients is available here.

Kate Burleigh, Managing Director Intel Australia/NZ and Chair of the iAwards Steering Committee, spoke after the ceremony, “This year’s entrants blew us away with their innovative ideas and creative thinking, and it is thrilling to see minds like these contributing to ACT innovation. As the standard of work and ideas improve year on year, the iAwards continue to showcase the best in the industry. We are excited to see the ACT winners compete at the national level in August.”

The national iAwards winners are given the opportunity to compete on a global level with businesses from across the Asia Pacific region at APICTA (Asia Pacific ICT Awards) on 18-22 November, in Sri Lanka.


Notes to editors
About the iAwards:
The iAwards honours both companies at the cutting edge of technology innovation as well as leading professionals across the ICT industry. Most importantly, the iAwards recognises the achievements of home-grown Australian innovators.

Join the conversation:
One of the great things about the iAwards is that they get people talking about ICT innovation! Take advantage of the hype by joining the conversation on Twitter, liking us on Facebook or staying in touch with LinkedIn.

Press contact (for additional information or to request interviews with the iAwards, alumni or previous winners):
Nicole Campbell, AIIA
0438 300 133